Weird things I did to prep for 2018

People who know me know I love New Years – it’s one of my favorite holidays. There’s something about the resetting of the year that’s really liberating. Like you’re shedding the dead skin of an old year and have a fresh start in the new year.

I set a lot of realistic New Year’s resolutions and take a lot of pride in meeting them, but there are other things I like to do at the end of the year that – while small – are great ways to help “reset” so it actually feels like a new year:

  1. Clean out your purse/wallet. I did this yesterday and after removing expired coupons, old ID cards, cards that don’t need to be in there because I can use my phone number, and $16 worth of Canadian coins from our trip to Whistler TWO YEARS AGO, my wallet feels 2 lbs lighter. Which makes ME feel lighter.
  2. Unsubscribe from unnecessary emails. I use Unroll.Me which makes it a lot easier to unsubscribe. I don’t know how I get on so many random ass mailing lists, but I use this for all of my accounts.
  3. Clean out your closet and sell what you can. I started using Poshmark a couple months ago, first to shop and then to sell. I’ve collected so many clothes over the years, from Goodwill, Old Navy, clothing swaps with friends and looking in my closet for something to wear is a nightmare. I don’t always want to give everything to Goodwill, so it’s been fun to style and list things on Poshmark.
  4. Clean out your fridge. If you’re like me and have gained more than your fair share of holiday weight, you’re likely hoping to reset your diet and exercise in 2018. A clean fridge is a great start – you’ll want to fill it with fresh, healthy food and water vs. just shoving old bags of takeout in there. I wiped down all the walls and cleaned out the drawers and it was so satisfying.
  5. Vacuum and dust. As mature, adult thirty-somethings, we were actually excited to get a new vacuum for Christmas this year. You would not BELIEVE how much crap it pulled up. So much that we vacuumed the entire house, all the baseboards, all the fans and filters, the ceiling…you name it. I then used incense and diffusers to help clear the air and give it a fresh scent.

If you’ve got anything to add, please let me know!

Happy New Year 🙂

Leave a comment