Can we STOP the calligraphy madness?

My friends and family know me as a font snob. Not a font EXPERT…..just a font snob.

(I’m sure you can imagine what a joy I was while planning our wedding.)

I’m just very particular about fonts. There are so many beautiful, interesting fonts out there that when I see a storefront using Papyrus for their logo or Times New Roman for a business card, it makes me want to cringe. (Don’t even get me started on Comic Sans.)

Recently though, I’ve noticed a design trend that seems to have taken over Pinterest, home decor, and the internet in general, which is a modern style of calligraphy. I will start off by admitting that it is a beautiful style.

It is not the ONLY style.

Hasn’t anyone heard of moderation? I can’t scroll down two pages of Pinterest without seeing it slathered all over everything – chalkboards, wedding invitations, doormats, pumpkins…

 

 

The world has such a variety of interesting fonts to choose from; I really hope this trend starts to take a backseat.

Leave a comment